Categories
Language

Korean Expression – ‘How to say “You Did Well”?’

I’m not gonna explain more but let me tell you why I love Korean languages so much. They always had a word that really encourage you or word to appreciate your hard work.

1.수고했어요 / 수고하셨습니다 (Su-go-hes-eo-yo / Su-go-ha-syeoss-sem-ida) = Thank you for your hard work.

You will common hear this when you watch Kdrama, Kshow. They will say it when the work is done.

2. 고생했어요 / 고생하셨습니다 (Go-seng-hess-eo-yo / Go-seng-ha-syeoss-sem-ida) = Thank you for your hard work .

This is the same with the word above. I know its a bit hard to understand, right? I once asked my Korean professor. What is the difference between this two and the answer is;

‘Both are literally the same, commonlly use but 수고 more to effort that has been doing for one person but 고생 used for both which has been doing a great effort…’

It’s okay, you can get used to it one day. Next ……………………

3. 애쓰셨습니다 (Ae-sseu-syeoss-seum-ida) = You have tried hard.

I know most of us never heard this before. Me too. I get to know this word when watch Korean documentary. Usually used by elders to the youngers.

4. 잘 했어 (Jal-hess-eo) = You did well.

This is informal way to say ‘You did well’. I bet you heard this a lot on Kdrama.

5. 너 최고 야 (Neo cwe-go ya) = You are the best.

This is the word that I love people said to me but mostly the close one. This one is another informal way to say ‘You did well’. You can try to say to your friends. Okay?

If you want to practice, you can come to my instagram @alisyanasir anytime to learn how to pronounce those words.

Have you heard Lee Hi – Breath or Jonghyun (Shinee) – End of A Day.

Its a sad song but the meaning of the lyrics of the song is sooooooooooooooooooooooo good. I’m crying everytime I listen to those song when I had the hard time. ㅠㅠㅠ

If anyone never told you, let me tell you this; YOU DID WELL TODAY! *pat shoulder*


Author

Alisya Nasir

Online Supporter for Korean Embassy in Malaysia

Learn Korean for 4 years

Instagram @alisyanasir

By Alisya Lee 🇲🇾

Practice what makes you perfect!!

Leave a comment