Categories
Entertainment Language

Learn Korean with ‘ICE CREAM’ #blackpink #icecream #selenagomez

Have you listen to BLACKPINK & Selena Gomez new English hit, ‘Ice Cream’? This song is perfect for this summer and the video is just so colorful and throw our bad thoughts and stress away from our heads because of SOPs and being annoyed scanning ‘MySejahtera’.

Reality check! ‘Ice Cream’ MV broke its own record and crosses the 10 million views with only TWO HOURS of its release. About 1/3 of Malaysia population have licked the ‘ice cream’ through YouTube screen with only 120 minutes. That’s crazy!

Learning Korean is a fun process! Always relate what you love when you are learning a language and you’ll find that it is so much handy to remember the new words! Yes, today we are going to learn new words from BLACKPINK ‘Ice Cream’! Although this is a full English song, but let us learn how to say some of the vocab in the lyrics in Korean!

Selenagomez Ice Cream GIF - Selenagomez IceCream Blackpink - Discover &  Share GIFs

Come a little closer ’cause you looking thirsty

I’ma make it better, sip it like a Slurpee

thirsty

In Korean: 목이 마르다 (mok-i ma-reu-da)
Literal meaning: 목 = throat; 마르다 = dry
Example: 마실 거 없나요?  마르다고요.
Do you have something to drink? I am thirsty.

Jennie GIF by Kaze_Zero | Gfycat

Even in the sun, you know I keep it icy

You could take a lick, but it’s too cold to bite me

sun

In Korean: 태양 (tae-yang)
Example: 밝은 태양 아래서 노는 것은 좋아요.
It is nice to play under the bright sun.

icy/chilly

In Korean: 차갑다
Example: 이이스크림은 먹고 몸이 차가워요!
My body feel chilly as I eat ice cream.

rosé gif Tumblr posts - Tumbral.com

Look so good, yeah, look so sweet

Looking good enough to eat

Coldest with the kiss, so he call me ice cream

Catch me in the fridge right where the ice be

sweet

In Korean: 달콤하다 (dal-kom-ha-da)
Example: 사랑은 달콤하다.
Love is sweet.

kiss

In Korean: 뽀뽀하다 (bbo-bbo-ha-da)
Example: 엄마한테 뽀뽀하고 싶어요!
I want to kiss my mother.

ice cream

In Korean: 아이스크림 (a-i-seu-keu-rim)
Example: 오빠는 아이스크림을 사주세요!
Oppa, buy me ice cream please!

blackpink rose gifs | Explore Tumblr Posts and Blogs | Tumgir

I know that my heart could be so cold

But I’m sweet for you, come put me in a cone

You’re the only touch, yeah, that get me melting

He’s my favorite flavor, always gonna pick him

heart

In Korean: 마음 (ma-eum)
Example: 네 마믐이 그냥 너에요.
My heart is just you.

flavor

In Korean: 맛 (mat)
Literal meaning: taste
Example: 이 아이스크림은 딸끼이에요.
This ice cream is in strawberry flavor.

pick

In Korean: 선택하다 (seon-taek-ha-da)
More meanings: select, choose, make a choice
Example: 제일 좋아하는 노래를 선택하세요.
Please pick your favorite song.

BLACKPINK - 'Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez)' M/V

Chillin’ like a villain, yeah, ra, ra, ra

미친 미친 듯한 속도 In my LaFerra’

너무 빨러 너는 삐끗 원한다면 그냥 지름

Millis, Billis 매일 벌음 한여름 손목에 얼음

미친 (mi-chin)

Meaning: crazy/insane
Root word: 미치다 (mi-chi-da) + -은/는 = 미친
Example: 미친여자 = crazy woman

너무 (neo-mu)

Meaning: very
Example: 너무 예뻐요! It is very pretty!

매일 (mae-il)

Meaning: every day
Root word: 매 = every; 일 = day
Example: 제가 매일 아침에 밥을 꼭 먹어 야돼요!
I have to eat rice in the morning every day!


Yay! You have learnt 12 new words from ‘Ice Cream’ lyrics in less than 10 minutes right? Comment down below by building your own sentences with this 12 new vocab you have learnt today.

BLACKPINK's lovely next to “sexy ice-cream saleswoman” Selena Gomez, Jennie  fooled fans again in the teaser of MV Ice Cream! – KBIZOOM

Melvin Tan

Content Manager (Language)
Online Supporter of Korean Embassy in Malaysia


Bio-science student in Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Korean Enthusiasts
Korean learner for 10 years, but still amateur

Instagram: @tanmawen

Leave a comment